Siirry pääsisältöön

Third-country access to the InvestEU Fund

Third countries can contribute to the InvestEU Fund and each of the policy windows in order to participate in certain financial products.

Third countries are defined broadly as:

a) countries with an existing comprehensive agreement with the EU. This includes:

  • European Free Trade Association (EFTA) members which are members of the European Economic Area (EEA), namely Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein
  • Acceding or candidate countries
  • Potential candidates
  • Countries covered by the European Neighbourhood Policy

The association of these countries is subject to the specific conditions laid down in agreements between the Union and them. 

b) Other third countries, as long as they enter into a specific agreement covering the participation of the third country to any Union programme.


Projects and operations extending to third countries

The InvestEU Fund may support through financing and investment operations, projects between entities located or established in one or more Member States and extending to third countries or territories, if there is a partner in those countries or territories.